Academic Information

General Information

Area Associate Deans

The area associate deans provide leadership in advising, assessment and evaluation, budgetary and curricular matters, as well as research; enable and promote collaboration across disciplines; coordinate faculty hiring and programs within the area; represent the area to all constituencies and work with Advancement to promote the area departments.

Academic Records

The director of academic records answers questions concerning records, schedules, transfers, transcripts, etc. The Academic Records Office is on the second floor of Luckey Building.

Department Chairs

The college academic structure is organized into 17 departments: Art; Biblical Studies, Theology, and Philosophy; Biology; Business and Economics; Chemistry; Communication; Education; English and Writing; History and Political Science; Intercultural Studies; Leisure Studies; Mathematics and Computer Science; the Greatbatch School of Music; Physical and Health Education; Physics and Earth Science; Psychology and Sociology; and World Languages and Literatures. The chair of each department is available to students for counseling and advising.


The faculty of the institution includes all full-time teaching faculty, all those individuals classified as non-teaching faculty by the administration (for example, the professional library personnel, some administrators in student life, and the administrators who report directly to the president). Other categories of faculty include: part-time, lecturers, adjunct and interim.

Degrees Offered

Houghton College offers courses of study leading to the degrees of master of music (MMus), master of arts in music (MA), bachelor of arts (BA), bachelor of fine arts (BFA), bachelor of science (BS), bachelor of music (BMus), and an associate of arts degree (AA). A two-year Christian ministries course in Bible and related studies leads to an associate in applied science degree (AAS).