Academic Information

General Information

Academic Vice President and Dean of the College

Area Associate Dean

The area associate deans provide leadership in advising, assessment and evaluation, budgetary and curricular matters, as well as research; enable and promote collaboration across disciplines; coordinate faculty hiring and programs within the area; represent the area to all constituencies and works with Advancement to promote the area departments.

Academic Records (Registrar)

The director of academic records answers questions concerning records, schedules, transfers, transcripts, etc. The Academic Records Office is located on the second floor of Luckey Building.

Department Chairs

The college academic structure is organized into 17 departments: Art; Biblical Studies, Theology, and Philosophy; Biology; Business and Economics; Chemistry; Communication; Education; English and Writing; History and Political Science; Intercultural Studies; Sport, Recreation, & Wellness; Mathematics; the Greatbatch School of Music; Physical and Health Education; Physics, Computer Science, and Engineering; Psychology and Sociology; and World Languages and Literatures. The chair of each department is available to students for counseling and advising.


The faculty of the institution includes all full-time teaching faculty, individuals classified as non-teaching faculty by the administration (such as professional library personnel, some administrators in student life, and administrators on the President’s staff). Other categories of faculty include: part-time, lecturers, adjunct, and interim.

Degrees Offered

Houghton College offers courses of study leading to the degrees of master of arts in music (MA), master of music (MMus), bachelor of arts (BA), bachelor of business administration (BBA), bachelor of fine arts (BFA), bachelor of science (BS), bachelor of music (BMus), an associate of arts degree (AA), and an associate in applied science degree (AAS).