Symphonic Winds

Commissioning Project

In 2002, the Houghton College Symphonic Winds inaugurated an ambitious ongoing composer commissioning program.  The goal of the project is to commission and premiere one new work for wind ensemble/wind band each year. This impressive project has resulted in the following new works:

2003 - Suite for Marice by Stephen Shewan
(published by Jubal Press)

2004 - A Quickening Ray by Mark Hijleh
(based upon the Charles Wesley hymn “And Can It Be”)

2005 - The Life of King David: Concerto for Marimba and Concert Band by Russell Peterson (premiere performance featured guest marimba soloist, Marc Wooldridge)

2006 - Variations on a Theme of Schubert, Op. 92 by Lowell Liebermann 
(published by Theodore Presser)

2007- Pax Vobis by Joshua Mills (Winner of the Houghton College Symphonic Winds Composition Contest) 
2007 - Were You There by Alfred “Corky” Fabrizio

2008 - A Higher Ground Fanfare by Carl Irwin
2008 - Espana by Robert Summers Potterton III (2nd Place Winner of the Houghton College Symphonic Winds Composition Contest)

2010 - Second Suite for Band by Christopher Aitken (graduate choral conductor, euphonium player, composer)

In 2012, Symphonic Winds is participating in a consortium commissioning project called the Western Plains Consortium.  Included will be the following compositions:

        Gregory Wanamaker: Quasar

        David Gillingham: single-movement piece

        Pulitzer Prize nominee James Beckel: Trombone Concerto

This is a two-year project; the works are anticipated to be performed in 2012-2014.

Back To Top