Diana Geiger
Diana Geiger
Author: Marshall Green
Date: July 11, 2013
Categories: Alumni|Music|Music & Arts

Houghton alumna Diana Geiger (’08) has been selected as a quarter-finalist for the first-ever Music Educator GRAMMY Award.  

A total of 217 music teachers from 195 cities across 45 states have been announced as quarter-finalists for the Music Educator Award presented by The Recording Academy and the GRAMMY Foundation. In total, more than 30,000 nominations were submitted from all 50 states.

“This award will be invaluable in making students, parents, and the community more aware of what we do on a daily basis,” said Geiger.  “I know that there are many well trained, good music educators in our country, which is why I am honored and humbled to have been chosen for this round.” 

Geiger graduated from Houghton College in 2008 with a Master of Music in conducting.  She is currently a teacher at Boynton Middle School in Ithaca, N.Y. 

The Music Educator Award was established to recognize current educators (kindergarten–college, public and private schools) who have made a significant and lasting contribution to the field of music education and who demonstrate a commitment to the broader cause of maintaining music education in the schools.

A joint partnership and presentation of The Recording Academy and the GRAMMY Foundation, this special award will have its inaugural presentation at the Special Merit Awards Ceremony and Nominees Reception honoring recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award, Trustees Award and Technical GRAMMY Award during GRAMMY Week 2014.

One recipient will be selected from 10 finalists and will be recognized for his/her remarkable impact on students' lives. The winner will be flown to Los Angeles to accept the award, attend the GRAMMY Awards ceremony and receive a $10,000 honorarium. The nine finalists will receive $1,000 honorariums, and the schools of all 10 finalists will receive matching grants. The honorariums and grants provided to the finalists and schools are made possible by the generosity and support of the GRAMMY Foundation's Education Champions Converse, Ford Motor Company Fund, General Mills Box Tops For Education, and Journeys.

As announced on the 55th Annual GRAMMY Awards by President/CEO of The Recording Academy and GRAMMY Foundation Neil Portnow, TV and radio host/producer and GRAMMY Foundation Honorary Chair Ryan Seacrest, and six-time GRAMMY winner Justin Timberlake, the award was open to current United States music teachers, and anyone was able to nominate a teacher — students, parents, friends, colleagues, community members, school deans and administrators. Teachers were also able to nominate themselves. All nominated teachers were notified and invited to fill out an application.