Author: Jessica Coates
Date: April 26, 2013
Categories: Faculty|Staff

Houghton faculty and staff were honored for their years of service at the Spring Recognition Event on Tuesday, April 23.

The annual event included a dessert reception with guitar music provided by Jon Haley, a performance by a student jazz ensemble, and presentation of awards and recognition by President Shirley Mullen and Linda Mills Woolsey, dean of the college.  Along with the recognition, two employees were honored with individual awards.

Jeff Babbitt was given the Mary Boomhower Staff Excellence Award. This award is given to a member of the Houghton College staff who exemplifies a Christian life and values in both his or her personal and professional life. The recipient of this award is nominated by co-workers, and the award is given on behalf of Mary Boomhower, who faithfully served as a Houghton employee for 45 years.

The Ken Boon Community Service Award was presented to David Mercer. The Ken Boon Community Service Award recognizes the contribution of a single college faculty or staff member who has dedicated him or herself to community service with passion and dedication.

Recognition is given in five-year increments to all employees who have completed 10 years or more of service. Those honored for years of service were: Diane Galloway – 35 years, Karen Dickerson – 35 years, Sharleen Holmes – 30 years, John Van Wicklin – 30 years, Phyllis Gaerte – 25 years, Margery Avery – 25 years, Douglas Gaerte – 25 years, James Wolfe – 25 years, Glen Avery – 25 years, Mitchell Liddick – 25 years, Jane Miner – 20 years, W. Christopher Stewart – 20 years, Mark Hijleh – 20 years, Cynthia Lastoria – 15 years, Trini Rangel – 15 years, Rebecca Crouch – 15 years, Ellen Woolley – 10 years, Linda Stull – 10 years, Marcus Dean – 10 years, Cathy Freytag – 10 years, Brandon Johnson – 10 years, and Gordon Arber Jr. – 10 years.

The retirees recognized for their years of service at Houghton were: Irmgard Howard – 42 years, Robert Galloway – 39 years, Richard Halberg – 38 years, Charles Massey – 37 years, Daryl Stevenson – 31 years, Ken Stonemetz – 27 years, Paul Shea – 19 years, Jonathan Arensen – 14 years, Gary Stith – 11 years, Andrew Gallman II – 11 years, Joyce Stith – 10 years, and John Brittain – 10 years.  

In all, over 700 years of dedicated service were honored.