A Christian College of the Liberal Arts & Sciences

Speaker's Bureau

As part of our commitment to the local church, the Office of Ministry Resources maintains a Speakers’ Bureau. The folks below are seasoned, thoughtful and articulate preachers, many with pastoral experience, who enjoy the chance to share God’s Word with area churches. The cost to your church is just $75—the Office of Ministry Resources will pick up all the transportation costs. Please contact the Office of Ministry Resources if you’re interested in a particular speaker or would like our help in finding the right guest speaker for your church.

Jonathan P. Case
Professor of Theology
Areas of Expertise:
Contemporary Protestant Theology, World Religions & New Religious Movements, Understanding Digital Culture
Contact Info:Jonathan.Case@Houghton.edu/ 585.567.9601

Richard Eckley
Professor of Theology
Areas of Expertise:
The Doctrine of the Holy Spirit; Roman Catholic / Evangelical Convergences, Contemporary Question of God; Pastoral Issues relating to Church & Society
Contact Info:Richard.Eckley@Houghton.edu/ 585-567-9469

Connie Finney
Professor of Education
Areas of Expertise:
Understanding learning and memory, Scripture-based devotional talks, understanding the Mennonite Church
Contact Info: Connie.Finney@Houghton.edu

Cathy E. Freytag, Ed.D.
Area Associate Dean for Education and Physical Education; Professor of Education
Areas of Expertise:
Inclusive (special needs) Education, Childhood Education, Middle Grades Education, Collaboration
Contact Info:Cathy.Freytag@Houghton.edu/ 585-567-9677

Douglas Gaerte
Professor of Communication, Chair of the Communication Department
Areas of Expertise:
Public Address, Propaganda, Political Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Relational and family/marital communication, Drama in the church
Contact Info:Douglas.Gaerte@Houghton.edu / 585-567-9462

Richard Halberg
Professor of Business, Certified Financial Planning professional
Areas of Expertise:
Investment Management, Financial Planning, Personal Finances, Biblical Perspectives on Money & Wealth
Contact Info:Richard.Halberg@Houghton.edu/ 585-567-9447
David Huth
Associate Professor of Visual Communications and Media Arts
Areas of Expertise: 
The use of media arts in the church, film/internet/media and contemporary culture
Contact Info: David.Huth@Houghton.edu
Mike Jordan
Dean of the Chapel
Areas of Expertise: 
the role of worship in the local church, preaching and worship building strong relationships between Christians
Contact Info: Michael.Jordan@Houghton.edu
Ndunge Kiiti
Professor of Intercultural Studies
Areas of Expertise: 
Human rights and justice issues
Contact Info: Ndunge.Kiiti@Houghton.edu

Benjamin Lipscomb
Professor of Philosophy
Areas of Expertise:
Biomedical ethics, Just war and pacifism, Worship and the Christian Year
Contact Info:Benjamin.Lipscomb@Houghton.edu585-567-9347

H. “Skip” Lord
Executive Director of Athletics
Areas of Expertise:
Sports Ministry, Athletics Administration, Missions: Making a long-term impact through short-term teams, Character Education through Sports, Current Issues in Sports, Sportsmanship, Leadership Training, Mentoring
Contact Info:Harold.Lord@Houghton.edu/585-567-9645

Theodore Murphy
Professor of Art
Areas of Expertise:
All visual art- particularly painting, Watercolor, Drawing, Renaissance and Baroque, Rococo, and 19thand 20th European and American art history, The art and history of cinema, Contemporary literature, Artistic human anatomy, Humanities in general , How art speaks to issues facing Christians today, Media studies as it pertains to TV films, Shakespeare, Marguerite Yourcenar, Jonathan Franzen, David Foster Wallace, and Jorge Luis Borges.
Contact Info:Ted.Murphy@Houghton.edu/ 585 567 9401

Bill-John Newbrough
Professor of Piano
Areas of Expertise: 
sacred and classical piano concerts, worship/devotional concerts
Contact Info: William.Newbrough@Houghton.edu

Meic Pearse
Professor of History
Areas of Expertise
: Church history and history of theology; Apologetics; Christianity and social engagement; ‘clash of civilizations’ /Why the Rest Hates the West; Eastern Europe; Religion and War; Doctrinal and Ethical Issues; Do all religions lead to God?
Contact Info:Meic.Pearse@Houghton.edu/ 585-567-9680

Paul W. Shea
Associate Professor of Missions
Areas of Expertise:
Global Christianity, Global issues, Missionary training and preparation, Theology of missions, Cross cultural adjustment and ministry, Urban ministry, Practical bible study, Local church mission outreach, Islam and religions, General preaching
Contact Info:Paul.Shea@Houghton.edu/ 585-567-9454

J. Michael Walters
Professor of Christian Ministry
Areas of Expertise:
Church Life; Spirituality; Worship; Preaching; Ministerial related topics
Contact Info:Michael.Walters@Houghton.edu/ 585-567-9453 

Linda Mills Woolsey
Dean of the College, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Professor of English
Areas of Expertise:
Nineteenth Century British Literature, Jane Austen, religion and poetry, creative writing and journal-keeping for spiritual growth, Christian liberal arts and higher education, spiritual disciplines, lessons from the lives of women mystics, family history and memory-keeping
Contact Info: lindamills.woolsey@houghton.edu / 585-567-9466

Paul Young
Professor and Chair, Psychology Department
Areas of Expertise:
Drugs and behavior, Brain and behavior
Contact Info:Paul.Young@Houghton.edu / 585-567-9308