0 Dr. Wayne D. Lewis, Jr.

Dr. Wayne D. Lewis, Jr.

President Wayne D. Lewis Jr.

Dr. Wayne D. Lewis, Jr.


With 20 years of experience in education, higher education leadership is a calling for President Lewis. He came to Houghton from Belmont University where he served as the inaugural Dean of the School of Education. Lewis has also served as the Commissioner of Education for the Commonwealth of Kentucky, overseeing an agency with over 1,100 employees and a $5 billion annual budget while also a faculty member at the University of Kentucky. Prior to that, he taught in K-12 public schools of Louisiana and North Carolina. 

Lewis is recognized as being a champion for students; focusing on improving educational access, opportunities and experiences for students, including those who have historically been underserved. An excellent match for Houghton University and the vision of our founder, Willard Houghton, who recognized how a life-bringing Christian faith, together with a high-quality education, could alter the trajectory of a person’s life. 

Read the Presidential Announcement


  • Ph.D. in Educational Research and Policy Analysis with a Minor in Public Administration | North Carolina State University’s College of Education
  • Post-Baccalaureate Studies in Special Education-Mild/Moderate Disabilities | The University of New Orleans
  • Master’s in Urban Studies with a Minor in Public Administration | The University of Akron’s Buchtel College of Arts & Sciences
  • Bachelor’s in Criminal Justice | Loyola University

Honors and Awards

  • Harry M. Sparks Distinguished Lecturer, Murray State University College of Education, 2019
  • Appreciation for Services Award, Delta Sigma Theta, Louisville Alumnae Chapter, 2019
  • Louisville Business First, People to Know, 2019
  • Leadership Award, State Interagency Council (SIAC), Kentucky, 2018
  • Teachers Who Make A Difference Award, University of Kentucky, 2013
  • Rick Hess Edu-Scholar Public Presence Rankings, #154 (tie), 2013
  • Men Making A Difference Award, African and Africana Studies Program (UKY), 2011
  • Dissertation of the Year Finalist, Politics of Education Association, 2010
  • Barbara L. Jackson Scholar, University Council for Educational Administration, 2007-2009

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.